FutureSurfing

We are all FutureSurfers, surfing into the future with a backpack full of strengths and passions.

When does the future start?

on December 3, 2012

The last few weeks I have been working with a group of students in Grade 10 at an international school in Dubai. Banan Hadidi and I facilitated a ‘FutureSurfing taster’. Our vision is all about inspiring and igniting learning in young people, but one of the best things about my job is that I get to learn something every day too. It’s my (now not so) secret way of staying like a teenager, even if I’m now 46 and my firstborn has just become an adult!

In session 2 we were looking at how to connect our vision for ourselves 10 years from now with the present moment, and how to move forward with a first doable step. Innocently, naively, I asked the question: “When does the future start?” and was fascinated to hear the answers. The majority of the students answered “it starts when I leave school,” several were rather fuzzy about whether it started in the next few hours or days, and only one student  asserted that “it starts now”. I asked them if they were willing to play with a new perspective, could they imagine just for the next 30 minutes that the future started now? They were all willing to play, and so we began.

What I learned is how important it is to start with the foundation, start by looking at our assumptions and perspectives before we move on to explore ideas about the future. Many students are focused on ‘crystal ball questions’ which come from a perspective of ‘no control’ over the future. Questions such as ‘Will I get a good job?’ and ‘Will I marry?’. I love helping them play with a different perspective, noticing what they are in control of, and from that powerful place, consider their choices now and the impact those choices will have on their futures.

When does your future start? What perspective are you looking at the future from right now? What are you in control of?

3 responses to “When does the future start?

  1. Kerrie says:

    Brilliant! I love “It starts now” – what possibilities we can create!
    No wonder you love your work 🙂

    • futuresurfing says:

      Glad you like it Kerrie 😀 what’s exciting for me is having young people step into the perspective of ‘it starts now’ as part of a wider perspective of ‘I’m in control of me’… it feels like I’m joining the dots backwards (quoting Steve Jobs) and that my purpose now is to connect with young people and help them see how powerful and talented they are! Do you know someone in Australia with a similar purpose/mission around young people? Or resources I should check out? Sean Covey has been a big inspiration…

  2. Kerrie says:

    YES! Let’s chat on facebook – I can introduce you to some people 🙂

Leave a Reply

Mumtoteens

Got teenagers? Then you know what I'm blogging on about.

Enfield Work Experience

Bringing together education and business

Financial Planning in the UAE

Financial advice for real people by real people

SFWork Blog - news and updates from the Centre for Solutions Focus at Work

News and updates from sfwork, the Centre for Solutions Focus at Work

authenticity

be your amazing self

Susan The Coach

Susan The Coach empowers people to live rich and wonderful lives with unconventional wisdom, and inspires them to realise their dreams

#TsinelasStories

The Search for my Tadhana around the Philippines

Cloud Cities

The blog of a relatable teen with his head in the clouds

Penelope Trunk Careers

We are all FutureSurfers, surfing into the future with a backpack full of strengths and passions.