FutureSurfing

We are all FutureSurfers, surfing into the future with a backpack full of strengths and passions.

The FutureSurfing Journal: Choose your Surfboard

on February 25, 2014

What’s now the FutureSurfing Journal started with a few pages of handouts and has grown and grown to over 60 pages over the last couple of years. It’s nearly ready for publication!

The Journal is for anyone aged 13 and over who wants to be a FutureSurfer – someone who takes control of their life and sees it as an adventure, riding the waves (challenges and opportunities) along the way. We’ve identified nine qualities that are helpful for FutureSurfers. They are:

  • I focus on what I’m in control of
  • I choose powerful attitudes
  • I think about my dreams for the future
  • I set goals and develop helpful habits
  • I know what’s in my backpack and keep adding to it
  • I know how to motivate myself
  • I take risks and handle obstacles
  • I experience work and get feedback
  • I build and connect with a support network

surfing2

Here’s an excerpt. Let us know what you think!

Step One: Choose Your Surfboard

“I focus on what I’m in control of”

Choosing your surfboard simply means taking control of your life. Do you notice how one moment you feel in control, and the next moment you have lost it again?

That’s the tough part. We’re not saying that you can magically take control of everything, that just by thinking positively, all the rules and constraints in your life will disappear.

So, your teachers will still expect you to show up on time, your parents will still only give you a limited amount of pocket money, and there will only ever be 24 hours in a day. But what is different when you take control of your life?

Think of a time when you felt totally in control of your life, it doesn’t matter if it was last week or several years ago. Where were you? What were you wearing? Were you alone or with others? What did you make happen for yourself?

Think about that for a moment and write or draw some ideas of what you notice was different. Just writing stuff down helps your brain to get activated.

When I felt in control…

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Leave a Reply

Mumtoteens

Got teenagers? Then you know what I'm blogging on about.

Enfield Work Experience

Bringing together education and business

Financialuae's Blog

Financial advice for real people by real people

SFWork Blog - news and updates from the Centre for Solutions Focus at Work

News and updates from sfwork, the Centre for Solutions Focus at Work

authenticity

be your amazing self

Susan The Coach At Outwith The Dots

Susan The Coach at Outwith The Dots empowers people to live rich and wonderful lives with unconventional wisdom, and inspires them to realise their dreams

Little Sweet and Sour

Beauty, Fashion and Lifestyle Blog through the Eyes of a Teenager

The Regina Monologues

My Story.My Life

Pins and Needles

We all get stuck...sometimes

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 531 other followers